anchored

I want to tumble over prairie
and drink the desert stars
I want a deeper pool of memories
I want to carry deeper scars
I want to hurl against the mountains
and batter on the stones
test my fists against the earth itself
and gnaw its tired bones
I want to feel the cold, gray morning
like a gull upon the beach
to hush my humming thoughts
and learn what silence has to teach
run my fingers over river stones
and sense my Father’s hand
tear away from all this rushing race
and find an open space to stand…
just stand, and breathe, and feel the wind,
and listen to the birds…
alive, awake, alone, untouched,
at peace at last, and anchored.

4 thoughts on “anchored

Leave a Reply

