if only

if only I could live my life
            in someone else’s skin.
if only I could be someplace
            where I have never been.
if only I could see the things
            I’ve never seen before.
if only I could know the future
            and plan for days in store.
if only I had all the answers
            and passed my every test.
if only I could feel the beat
            in someone else’s chest.
if only I could see myself
            with someone else’s eyes.
if only I could fix the world.
            if only I was wise.
if only I could heal the hurt
            in every human heart.
if only I knew what to do.
            if only I could start.

3 thoughts on “if only

  1. Some times we have so many ‘ifs’ that we become numb and unable to even start to resolve any of our problems…you capture those feelings well in your poem.

Leave a Reply

