the Free Way

I refuse
to take the freeway.
it’s fast, straight, filled
with people going places,
but I  take
the

long

        and

       often
   
lonely

       way

around

over the short-cut,
because I like to think
that this way it’s easier
to know where I’m going.

I can think myself into knots
talk myself into corners
take the high road of educated confusion
over the simpler track
of honest faith,
but no,
I won’t take the free way.

I can tread the narrow-winding path
of seeming enlightenment
but

can I share a
simple
honest
love
with another?

no.
I can’t take the Free Way.

One thought on “the Free Way

Leave a Reply

